Skip to content
Justin Crisp, Jessica Magers-Rankin, Jeremy Russell, Dr Kelly Baker Dr Mark Hulsether and Jenny Bledsoe at the SECSOR (Southeastern Commission for the Study of Religion) 2011 Conference in Louisville, Kentucky

Undergraduate Research

Taylor Thomas ’16 talks about her successes, opportunities, and travels as an undergraduate researcher in Religious Studies. Note: this video originally formed part of the department’s VOLstarter campaign to raise funds for the new Undergraduate Research and Travel Fund in fall 2016.

Religious Studies Undergraduate Research Award

Majors and minors in Religious Studies are invited to submit their research for the department's Undergraduate Research Award, which includes a $200 prize. The research should be from the past three semesters (no earlier than Spring 2015) and may consist of essays, poster presentations, or other research projects done for a Religious Studies course or under the supervision of Religious Studies faculty. Research papers should be at least seven double-spaced pages. Other research projects should be accompanied by a narrative of at least two double-spaced pages. The deadline for submissions is March 15.  Submit applications to  

Entries will be evaluated by a committee of three Religious Studies faculty from different regional specializations that will rotate its members annually on a regular basis. Each entry will be evaluated by two faculty members, and faculty will recuse themselves from evaluating their own students' work. Submissions will be evaluated on the quality and originality of research and their contributions to the field of Religious Studies. The winner will be announced at the annual department awards ceremony in late April.

2015 Recipients of the  Lusby and Hodges Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

Robert Cremins,  Kirby Trovillo, and Felipe Oliveira were the 2015 recipients of the  Lusby and Hodges Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research.  All three students presented their research at the annual meeting of the Southeastern Commission for the Study of Religion.


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.