Skip to content

Religious Studies Endowment Fund

The Religious Studies Endowment Fund was established in honor of the Department's 50th Anniversary in 2016-17 and is in memory and recognition of the faculty and staff that helped found and develop the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville beginning in 1966. Founders include Ralph Norman, David Dungan, Lee Humphreys, David Linge, F. Stanley Lusby and Charles H. Reynolds, followed by Miriam Levering, John O. Hodges, James Fitzgerald, Gerald Larson, Roland Delattre, Rosalind Gwynne, Rosalind I. J. Hackett, Mark Hulsether, and Gilya Schmidt to name a few. 

The Religious Studies Endowment Fund provides long-term financial support for the Department of Religious Studies, College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville campus. The endowment earnings from this fund may be used for, but are not limited to, programming or faculty "top-offs" in the fields of study represented by the "Founders" listed above. 

Donors interested in making a contribution to the Religious Studies Endowment Fund, can make an online donation or make a check payable to the University of Tennessee Department of Religious Studies. Please indicate that the check is for the "Religious Studies Endowment Fund" and mail it to the address below:

Department of Religious Studies
501 McClung Tower
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-0450

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.