Skip to content

Religious Studies in the News

Bryson Receives Junior Faculty Teaching Award

Bryson Receives Junior Faculty Teaching Award

The 2019 College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Awards banquet took place Thursday, December 5 at the Holiday Inn Downtown. From Diversity Leadership to awards in research, advising, and teaching, the annual awards banquet honors faculty excellence in all areas of the college mission.

“As we recognize particularly outstanding faculty this evening, I want to thank all of our faculty in the college, individually and collectively, for everything you do— your teaching, research, service on college and university committees, thesis committees, and tenure and promotion committees, and service to the public through community engagement,” said Theresa Lee, dean of the college and emcee for the awards ceremony. “A college can be no greater or stronger than its faculty and the College of Arts and Sciences is a college of excellence because each of you has a passion for our profession and you work selflessly to make our students, departments and university the best they can be.”

Megan Bryson, associate professor of religious studies, received a Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Junior faculty have many responsibilities, especially in a smaller department, so Bryson’s contributions to the teaching mission in and out of the classroom are remarkable. She teaches a wide variety of courses, from broad surveys to more advanced courses in Buddhism, her specialty area. Scanning her student’s comments, there are two major themes: incredible knowledge of the subject matter and extreme care for her students demonstrated both by creating a safe classroom environment that aids class discussions and attention to the struggles of individual students. She has been involved in developing and updating courses, and developing a new program in the department. She also serves the university community through her work on the General Education Committee.

Congratulations Professor Bryson on your award!

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.